In 1769, Ninety Six District was created from the original county of Craven. In 1785, the District was divided into six counties: Abbeville, Edgefield, Laurens, Newberry, Spartanburg and Union. In 1786, Greenville Co. was created, and in 1789, Pendleton Co. was as well. In 1791, Pinckney District was formed from parts of Ninety Six and Camden Districts, taking the counties of Spartanburg and Union. Also in 1791, Washington District was formed from Ninety Six District, taking the counties of Greenville and Pendleton. In 1798,Ninety Six was abolished when all its counties became districts: Abbeville, Edgefield, Laurens and Newberry.