Cass Co. was created in 1832, but had many white inhabitants as early as 1800 living amongst the Indians. It was formed from Cherokee Co., which at that same time was divided into 10 counties: Cass, Cherokee, Cobb, Forsythe, Gilmer, Lumpkin, Murray, Paulding, Walker and Floyd. By an act of legislature in 1861, the name of the county was changed to Bartow.