On the Gulf coast in the Panhandle Region of Florida (aka Redneck Riviera), Wakulla County was formed in 1843 from Leon County. Its county seat, Crawfordville, is on US-319 about 20 miles south of Tallahassee. Wakulla is bordered by the Gulf of Mexico and the counties of Franklin, Liberty, Leon and Jefferson.