On the Atlantic coast in the Central/Space Coast Region of Florida, Volusia County was formed in 1854 from Orange County. Its county seat, DeLand, is on I-4 about 35 miles north of Orlando. Volusia, which includes Daytona Beach and the famed Daytona Raceway, is bordered by the Atlantic Ocean, Lake George, and the counties of Flagler, Putnam, Lake, Seminole and Orange.