In the Central/Space Coast Region of Florida, Sumter County was formed in 1853 from Marion County. In 1887, the eastern part of Sumter was split off to help form Lake County. Sumter's county seat, Bushnell, is on I-75 about 50 miles north of Tampa and 50 miles west of Orlando. Sumter is bordered by the counties of Marion, Lake, Polk, Pasco, Hernando and Citrus.