On the Gulf coast in the Panhandle Region of Florida (aka the Redneck Riviera), Santa Rosa County was formed in 1842 from Escambia County. In 1915, the eastern part of Santa Rosa was split off to form Okaloosa County. Santa Rosa's county seat, Milton, is five miles north of I-10 and about 15 miles ENE of Pensacola. Santa Rosa is bordered by the Florida counties of Escambia and Walton, and the Alabama county of Escambia.