On the Atlantic coast in the Northeast Region of Florida, Saint Johns County was formed in 1821 as an original county. In the subsequent 30 years, numerous splits to Saint Johns occurred to form new counties. In 1917, part of Saint Johns was split off to help form Flagler County. Its county seat, Saint Augustine, is on I-95 about 30 miles southeast of Jacksonville. Saint Johns is bordered by the Atlantic Ocean and the counties of Duval, Clay, Putnam and Flagler.