On the Atlantic coast in the Southeast/Gold Coast Region of Florida, Palm Beach County was formed in 1909 from Dade County. In 1915, Palm Beach County's southern part was split off to help form Broward County, and in 1925, its northern part was split off to form Martin County. Palm Beach's county seat, West Palm Beach, is on I-95 about 65 miles north of Miami. Palm Beach is bordered by the Atlantic Ocean, Lake Okeechobee, and the counties of Martin, Hendry and Broward.