In the Heartland/South Central Region of Florida, Okeechobee County was formed in 1917 from Osceola, Palm Beach, and Saint Lucie counties. Its county seat, the town of Okeechobee, is at the northern end of Lake Okeechobee, about 90 miles SSE of Orlando and 55 miles northwest of West Palm Beach. Okeechobee is bordered by the counties of Osceola, Indian River, Saint Lucie, Martin Glades and Highlands.