Bordering Georgia and the Atlantic coast in the Northeastern Region of Florida, Nassau County was formed in 1824 from Duval County. Its county seat, Fernandina Beach, is on Route A1A about 25 miles north of Jacksonville and just across the St. Mary's River from Georgia. Nassau is bordered by the Florida counties of Duval and Baker, and the Georgia counties of Camden and Charlton.