On the Gulf Coast in the Southwest Region of Florida, Lee County was formed in 1887 from Monroe County. In 1923, the eastern part of Lee County was split off to form Hendry County, and the southern part was split off to form Collier County. Its county seat, Fort Myers, is on I-75 about 90 miles south of Tampa and 110 miles northwest of Miami.. Lee is bordered by the counties of Charlotte, Hendry and Collier.