Bordering south Georgia at the eastern end of the Panhandle Region of Florida, Jefferson County was formed in 1827 from Leon County. Its county seat, Monticello, is just north of I-10, about 25 miles east of Tallahassee and 20 miles south of Thomasville, GA. Jefferson is bordered by the Florida counties of Madison, Taylor, Leon and Wakulla, and the Georgia counties of Thomas and Brooks.