On the Atlantic coast in the Northeast Region of Florida, Flagler County was formed in 1917 from Saint Johns and Volusia Counties. Its county seat, Bunnell, is on US-1 about 65 miles south of Jacksonville and 65 miles north of Orlando. Flagler is bordered by the Atlantic Ocean and the counties of Saint Johns, Putnam and Volusia.