On the Atlantic coast in the Southeast/Gold Coast Region of Florida, Dade County was formed in 1836 from Monroe County. In 1909, the northern part of Dade county was split off to form Palm Beach County, and in 1915, the new northern part was again split to form Broward County. In 1997, Dade County was renamed Miami-Dade County. Its county seat, Miami, is the southern terminus of I-95. Miami-Dade is bordered by the counties of Broward, Collier and Monroe.