In the Panhandle Region of Florida, Calhoun County was formed in 1838 from Franklin County. In 1925, the southern half of Calhoun was split off to form Gulf County. Calhoun's county seat, Blountstown, is about 12 miles south of I-10 and 45 miles west of Tallahassee. Calhoun is bordered by the counties of Jackson, Liberty, Gulf, and Bay.