On the Atlantic coast in the Southeast/Gold Coast Region of Florida, Broward County was formed in 1915 from Dade and Palm Beach counties. Its county seat, Fort Lauderdale, is on I-95 about 25 miles north of Miami. Broward is bordered by the Atlantic Ocean and the counties of Palm Beach, Hendry, Collier, and Miami-Dade.