On the Atlantic coast in the Central/Space Coast Region of Florida, Brevard County was formed in 1844 from what is now Orange County. In 1887, the western portion of Brevard was split off to form Osceola County, and in 1905, the southern part became Saint Lucie County. Brevard's county seat, Melbourne, is on I-95 about 50 miles southeast of Orlando and 140 miles south of Jacksonville. Brevard, which includes Cape Canaveral and the Kennedy Space Center, is bordered by the Atlantic Ocean and by the counties of Volusia, Seminole, Orange, Osceola, and Indian River.